Diamond Education Center

Diamond Education Center

If you are planning on purchasing a diamond, it is important that you know as much as possible about how diamonds are classified to enhance the joy of your gift and the value of your investment. Four factors are considered for grading quality, commonly referred to as the 4Cs:

  • Cut
  • Clarity
  • Color
  • Carat weight

Another "C" one might consider is certification. Our education center explains each of these factors in detail.

A diamond certification is an independent grading report of a diamond. It is your third party opinion of the stone quality. Do not rely on an in-house appraisal that cannot be completely unbiased. A grading report scientifically analyzes the Carat weight, Clarity, Color, Measurements, and Proportions, and gives you a plot of the diamond's features. From a certificate or grading report any gemologist can positively identify your diamond. Two of the most highly regarded independent grading laboratories in the world are the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) and the American Gem Society (AGS). These institutions issue written documentation of the diamond's quality.